Research Paper Questions about Vinyl Resurgence

Hello all,

I am a University student writing my Dissertation paper on  “I am the resurrection”: The Rebirth of Vinyl Records in Contemporary Popular Music Culture. I am looking for some answers to some questions from all on the forum who are interested in giving me some feedback and opinions. I don't need huge amounts of detail but a nice short discussion will be very much appreciated. I too am a huge vinyl enthusiast so I'm hoping we can create something special with this paper.

1. What do you think has caused/contributed to the vinyl resurgence and why?

2. What do vinyl records mean to you?

3. Do you prefer the visual or aural aspects of vinyl records?

4. What are the benefits of vinyl records over other formats of music?

Thanks for reading, would love some feedback.

Declan

University of Winchester, United Kingdom

botw-383.jpg?quality=100&strip=info&w=50

cSOqNN4.png

12277448_148866038806043_687448777_n.jpg

29B6479-1024x683.jpg

45 minutes ago, throughbeingcruel said:

I know it's a joke but that's called a sprocket, not a chain ring. And if it is in fact also called a chain ring, I've literally never heard that in nearly 30 years of being around bikes. 

Chainring can be more or less used interchangeably with sprocket, I'm sure they had distinct definitions at one point but I can't remember what it is. Source: I work in the industry.

5 minutes ago, AlexH. said:

Chainring can be more or less used interchangeably with sprocket, I'm sure they had distinct definitions at one point but I can't remember what it is. Source: I work in the industry.

Word. My homie owns Seattle BMX and I've been skating/riding since I was a little kid and never heard chain ring used haha. Out buddy who's a tattooer has a sprocket tattoo on his arm, I think it's a Fit Bike Co sprocket but I can't remember. I never knew sprocket tats were hip haha. 

Also