Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'microphones'.

More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • General
    • Vinyl Collective Message Board
    • Cassette Collective Message Board
    • Sale/Trade/Wants
    • Turntables & Other Audio Equipment
    • Everything Else Message Board
  • Help
    • Forum Tech Support
  • One Member Club's All posts must be exactly THREE words.

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...


  • Start






Website URL






Found 3 results

  1. Pre-order here: http://www.pwelverumandsun.com/store#mounteerie Now Only, written shortly following the release of A Crow Looked At Me and the first live performances of those songs, is a deeper exploration of that style of candid, undisguised lyrical writing. It portrays Elverum’s continuing immersion in the strange reality of Geneviève’s death, chronicling the evolution of his relationship to her and her memory, and of the effect the artistic exploration of his grief has had on his own life. The scope of Now Only encompasses not only hospitals and deathbeds, but also a music festival, childhood memories of conversations with Elverum’s mother, profound paintings and affecting artworks he encounters, a documentary about Jack Kerouac, and most significantly, memories of his life with Geneviève. These moments and thoughts resonate with each other, creating a more complex and nuanced picture of mourning and healing. The power of these songs comes not from the small, sharp moments of cutting phrases or shocks, but the echoes that weave the songs together, the way a life is woven. The music, fully realized by Elverum alone at home, is fleshed out texturally and seems to react to the words in real time. In a moment of confusion, dissonance abruptly makes itself known; in a moment of clarity, gentle piano arises. On the title track, the blunt declaration of “people get cancer and die” is subverted by a melody that can only be described as pop. As Elverum reinvents his lyrical process, he is also refining his musical vocabulary. Elverum’s life during the period he wrote Now Only was defined by the duality of existing with the praise and attention garnered by A Crow Looked At Me and the difficult reality of maintaining a house with a small child by himself, as well as working to preserve Geneviève’s artistic legacy. Consumed with the day to day of raising his daughter, Elverum felt his musical self was so distant that it seemed fictional. Stepping into the role of Phil Elverum of Mount Eerie held the promise of positive empathy and praise, but also the difficulty of inhabiting the intense grief that produced the music. These moments, both public and domestic, are chronicled in these songs. They are songs of remembrance, and songs about the idea of remembrance, about living on the cusp of the past and present and reluctantly witnessing a beloved person’s history take shape. Time continues. ELV041: NOW ONLY by Mount Eerie : LP + download (PRE-ORDER) release date: March 16th, 2018 A sequel or continuation down the path that began with “A Crow Looked At Me”. 6 word-filled songs about the raw strangeness of the present moment, waking up in wreckage, living with pervasive echoing real ghosts and a growing young child. Autobiographical. contains: 6 songs, 44 minutes, heavy old style gatefold tip-on jacket with special subtle blue paper on the inner liner sheet, all the lyrics, free download card 1. Tintin in Tibet (4:37) 2. Distortion (10:58) 3. Now Only (5:54) 4. Earth (5:52) 5. Two Paintings by Nikolai Astrup (9:22) 6. Crow, Pt. 2 (6:50)
  2. hey all. few items up for sale here - all prices INCLUDE SHIPPING, USA only. i've got a few single mailers and a few double/triple mailers, so buying in bulk is cool. feel free to PM with any questions concerns offers yadda yadda. THANKS! update: i'm free to ship tomorrow (wednesday, march 11), so if anyone is interested in these last two LPs i could get them out pretty quick. knocked 2 bucks off each one to try and get them out the door. PM me with any questions - thanks!! $18 - Burzum - Filosofem (2xLP 2010 pressing, played once) **SOLD** $16 - Converge - All We Love We Leave Behind (2xLP 2014 pink pressing, played once) $10 - John Fahey - Blind Joe Death (2010 pressing) the following 4 albums are all the most recent pressings. i bought them as a bundle when phil elverum announced the repress, but never ended up listening to them. *each album is $15, or all 4 for $50*. The Microphones - Don't Wake Me Up The Microphones - It Was Hot We Stayed In The Water The Microphones - Song Islands Vol. 1 Mt. Eerie - Song Islands Vol. 2 **SOLD**
  3. This is a new and ultimate Mount Eerie album. “Vikings and zen and real life” are the reference points. All of the song titles are single words and some of the songs are very long. This is music meant to weigh heavy on you like a lot of cold water at night, and also the sword glimmering at the bottom of the lake at night. preview video: http://vimeo.com/111321548