Comics (possible spoilers)

Alright, some of you might have noticed I'm somewhat new to comics although I've been casually reading a few collections here and there over the past year or so. I've been looking around for X-Men stuff for the past few days and have read quite a lot about comics in general. I thought I would ask your opinion on some solid series I could pick up in hardcover form. I'm currently looking to get the Absolute Sandman collections, as well as a few other of the Absolute series books. I was also reading about the Death of Captain America run. Is that as good as everyone seems to say? I guess this thread could be general discussion about comics as well. I've become rather obsessed over the last couple weeks.

• Replies 1k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

death of cap is fantastic, but buy the trades from the beginning of the current series, Ed Brubaker's run has been fucking awesome. specially if you're into the spy thriller type stuff.

Absolute Sandman is nice, but they don't have all the trades in absolute form yet? don't deprive yourself of the series, get all the paper trades, but honestly, Sandman isn't something to casually jumpm into, you may want to wait a little while.

I'd recommend:

the Walking Dead

Y: the Last Man

Preacher

Hellboy

BPRD

Batman(anything with Geoff Loeb and Tim Sale are easy)

Batman Arkham Asylum

Batman Sword of Azrael

Powers(this gets kinda weird, but it's good)

I've dabbled a little in Hellblazer, but not fully caught on

FABLES. buy the first trade, you probably won't like it, but keep buying them, stick with it because the pay offs down the line are awesssoooooommee.

Planetary. fucking genius.

Ex-Machina

Marvels & Kingdom Come(basically the same story, but one is Marvel, the other is DC...but Alex Ross's art is unreal)

Sandman / Death mini series trades / Lucifer / Books of Magic

I'll think of more, those will get you buried in debt enough.