Grounding issue with an odd setup

I have a Realistic LAB-420 (just got it - love it), that I have hooked up to my receiver and all is well as far as that goes (grounded properly with no issues). I like to record my records via my laptop - but the 420's volume output, running to my laptop, is quite low and needs to be EQ'd something fierce. So, I attempted to serial it through a tube-pre-amp I had on hand, but am now having issues with even worse sound and humming. I tried running another ground wire, from the turntable, into a screw on the pre-amp's chassis. This causes humming like nothing is grounded at all. Grrrrr...

The turntable I was using previously had no need of grounding, as it seemed to have a built-in pre-amp, so I did not run into this issue (but this table was about as lame as one could possibly get).

As you can probably tell, I am an amateur when it comes to more complex sound setups and I could really use some suggestions.

My pre-amp is a ZhilaiAudio DZ (tube driven)

Thanks ahead of time for any suggestions.

I really feel that something is not working, i.e something's burned out. The "tape out" makes sense, but am getting no sound. Sooooo, since I am the semi-king of audio adapters, for now I am running sound to my lappy via the headphone jack.

I really juts need t break down and buy a new receiver so I know everything is fresh and working.

Mind you - I am a DJ with good knowledge in setting up sound. But PA systems and home audio are two different, silly beasts 😜

I really appreciate you giving advice on this

• 1 month later...