Jump to content

PO: Pigface - Gub: Deluxe Edition 2xLP (out 5/19) w/Trent Reznor, Martin Atkins, Steve Albini, etc.

Recommended Posts

$39.98 + shipping @ Cleopatra's store 
$42.98 Prime @ Amazon


For Immediate Release

Deluxe Vinyl Reissue Of The 1990 Debut Album From Industrial Supergroup PIGFACE Featuring MARTIN ATKINS, WILLIAM RIEFLIN, TRENT REZNOR, And STEVE ALBINI, Plus Members Of REVOLTING COCKS, THE JESUS LIZARD, SKINNY PUPPY, KMFDM And More!

Los Angeles, CA – When drummer Martin Atkins departed the post-punk juggernaut Public Image Ltd. for the last time in 1985, he had no shortage of bands clamoring for his creative input. Throughout the late ‘80s and early ‘90s, Atkins found himself collaborating with a host of like minded acts such as NIN, Killing Joke and, most notably, William Rieflin of Revolting Cocks and Ministry. Together,  Rieflin and Atkins would team up for their most adventurous project yet, an industrial music supergroup that would unite the talents of their various associates under one banner, Pigface!

In 1990, the project debuted with Gub, a sprawling, genre-defying masterpiece that shook the music world and showed just how far Atkins and his associates were willing to push the boundaries of electronic, rock and music in general. The album notably contains the original version of “Suck” featuring Trent Reznor, which Reznor would later re-record for the 1992 NIN EP Broken. With contributions from even more industrial music luminaries including Revolting Cocks' Chris Connelly, The Jesus Lizard's David Yow, Skinny Puppy's Nivek Ogre, Ministry's Paul Barker, KMFDM's En Esch, Steve Albini and more, Gub has more than earned its reputation as one of the most adventurous sound recordings ever made.

Reflecting on the album, Atkins shares, “This captures such a liberating time - to assemble such a cast of characters and not care what the results were (But, of course we did) and we delighted in the luxury of legendary Chicago Trax studios and the skills of Steve Albini to capture and communicate it all. Strange to think that Trent’s involvement was actually a cause for discussion - NIN didn’t really mean anything at this point and it was suggested that we could save the $150 round trip airfare from Cleveland if we didn’t involve him. I vetoed the request. Bill Rieflin and I hatched the idea for the project during warmups for the Ministry cage tour and the immense contribution of his partner Francesca Sundsten to the project by creating the iconic artwork cannot be overstated.”

Now the album is getting the deluxe reissue treatment courtesy of Cleopatra Records. Not only has Francesca Sundsten’s stunning artwork for the album been fully restored, but now it sports a gatefold image of the original promotional picture for Pigface, cut and pasted together by Chris Connelly. Plus all of the bonus remixes and additional track versions have been packaged together for the first time on one release. The CD comes in a deluxe digipak for CD while the vinyl version is pressed in a variety of colors – your choice of BLACK & WHITE SPLATTER vinyl, BLUE, RED or PURPLE! Order your copy today and experience the magnificence that is Pigface’s Gub!


1. Tapeworm with Steve Albini
2. The Bushmaster with Trent Reznor & David Yow
3. Cylinder Head World
4. Point Blank with Steve Albini, Chris Connelly
5. Suck with Trent Reznor & Paul Barker
6. Symphony For Taps
7. The Greenhouse with Chris Connelly
8. Little Sisters with Chris Connelly, William Tucker
9. Tailor Made with Steve Albini, Paul Barker
10. War Ich Nicht Immer Ein Gutter Junge? War Ich Nicht Immer Schoen Und Nett? Ich Zerpfluckte Niemals Eine Spinne-War Neimals Frech Und Stahl with En Esch
11. Blood and Sand with Chris Connelly, Matt Schultz
12. Weightless with Chris Connelly
13. Tonight's The Night (Little Sisters Remix)
14. Winnebago (Induced Tapeworm Remix) with Nivek Ogre
15. The Bushmaster (Bushmaster Remix)
16. War Ich Nicht Immer Ein Gutter Junge? War Ich Nicht Immer Schoen Und Nett? Ich Zerpfluckte Niemals Eine Spinne-War Neimals Frech Und Stahl (Remix)
17. Suck (VX Remix)
18. Suck (Reverse Sitar Mix)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



AdBlock Detected


We noticed that you're using an adBlocker

Yes, I'll whitelist