Slightly used Technics SL-1200MK2 - good deal?

Hi all, vinyl newbie here. I have $1000 dollars to spend on an entire system as I have nothing currently.

Via Craigslist I have found someone offering a 2006 Technics SL-1200MK2 that (according to the seller) has maybe 100 hours on it ("they have been sitting in storage for several years") and a Shure SC35C cartridge (which I understand to be a DJ cart and would need to be replaced/upgraded).

The seller is asking $400 for it - I'm thinking I should jump on this rather than get a new Rega RP1 or Pro-Ject Debut Carbon or a Audio-Technica or Music Hall TT in the same price range, but wanted to get some other opinions.

I have a Technics and I love it. It's built like a tank and has worked flawlessly for ten years. I'd be tempted by that table if it was in perfect working order and also looked like it was taken care of. But if it's an "all sales final" type of thing on Craigslist, I'd be hesitant at that price. I buy a lot of used record players, receivers, etc. and it's not uncommon for a unit to work perfectly for a period of time before problems start appearing. Oftentimes, they are minor problems but new ones nonetheless. For $400, I'd be willing to go check it out and see what the table and the seller are like. It'd be a tough sell but not impossible. For $300 or less, I'd be far more willing to take a chance on the table as long as it works properly.

The Technics SL-1200 is a vastly different table than a Rega, Pro-Ject or Music Hall. First things first, do your research and decide what type of features and characteristics are attractive to you. Believe me, you'll find no shortage of opinions on that SL-1200 ... or any of the other tables for that matter.