Feel stuck in progressing with guitar

So I've been playing guitar for about 2- 2 1/2 years now. Mostly it has just been covering songs and learning parts of songs that I really like. However, more recently I have been interested in learning the theory to guitar, as in how it all works, chord structures, why certain chords progressions work, etc. I was wondering if anyone could give me any kind of tips with an approach to learning these things/practicing. Thanks in advance! 

I feel like music theory should be a primary focus in going forward. Any tips on transitioning from playing mostly acoustic to electric? I recently got my first electric and of course song structures/tunings etc are different so I've been trying to adjust in the songs I'm wanting to learn

Yeah if your electric has a whammy bar, use it to dive bomb and make horse whinney-ing/dog-barking noises.

Seriously though, if you are unsure about taking lessons over skype I would offer you the 1st half hour free so you can see it's legit. You'd have to provide a couple bucks if you want the video though, and then after that we could work out something you could afford, and what you want to focus on learning.

I'm not expensive, but very knowledgable and also flexible in terms of when I can teach so even if you're in a different time zone I can likely work around your schedule, to an extent.

Having played guitar for about 13-14 years already, I've found that music theory is not necessary to progress your playing. You can be classically trained all you like, but at the end of the day, it's creativity that matters the most. If you feel limited, try transposing other instruments in songs to guitar. That will have you learning more quickly and give more towards your eventual technique.