Jump to content


  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Feedback


About torpaul

  • Birthday 03/11/1982

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
  • AIM
    paul ridiy

Profile Information

  • Location
    Providence, RI

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

torpaul's Achievements


Newbie (1/14)



  1. The newest Tor Johnson Records release: a 12 song, 20min, 1-sided LP from Baton Rouge's Heavy Mantle. Here's the deal, we're screen printing a bunch of the vinyl. The TJR exclusive (pre-orderable now) is blue vinyl with black ink on the b-side, limited to 50. There will also be a Heavy Mantle exclusive gold vinyl with black ink, limited to 50. We are also excited to announce our first team up with Limited To One Record Store in NYC. They will have an exclusive variant of clear vinyl with blue ink limited to 20. And for the extreme rare record collector, we have a variant of clear vinyl with white ink. These are only available with the shirt package pre-order. We are only printing how many get ordered. Could be only 5 of these that get made, who knows! Check out the first song here: https://www.punkrocktheory.com/news/premiere-heavy-mantle-stream-four-walls-fallen and pre-order here: http://www.torjohnsonrecords.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_music_info&cPath=21&products_id=1433 About the release: "HEAVY MANTLE plays punk rock... I guess. That sentence just doesn’t do them justice. Primarily influenced by punk and hardcore, these songs come together in a beautiful, swirling, indie rock/alternative display that gives serious nods to predecessors of the style such as Small Brown Bike, Cursive and even Jawbreaker. Sometimes poppy, sometimes frantic but always melodic; the band has found themselves straddling the line somewhere in between. Heavy Mantle seems to have unlocked the secret to taking those hooks & melodies found in the songwriting of their predecessors, and boiling them down into 90 second long bursts without losing the power or structure of the song itself. Conceived in Baton Rouge by Secret Smoker’s Billy Thompson (guitar/vocals), after recruiting Brian Domingue (bass & backups) and Zach Smotherman (drums), the three quickly wrote a collection of four songs that landed on a demo back in 2015. Three years later and they’ve done about 10,000 miles of road, and are ready to unleash an LP that sounds equally fresh & original as it does familiar."
  2. just put this out on Tor Johnson Records. 100 random mix cassette shells in black cases so you don't know what you get until you open it. 4 songs of sludge-y doom-ish stuff. check out it out: https://torjohnsonrecords.bandcamp.com/album/4-song-demo description: What happens when two good friends from opposite sides of "underground" music decide to start a band. One coming from the punk/raw punk/metal scene while the other comes from a more stoner rock/indie rock/scremo scene. Combined you get the bass driven power of sludge in the form of Cyttorak. Creating a heavy, slow, unstoppable force that even Cain Marko wouldn't be able to pound to submission. Pop this in your tape-deck, turn it up to 11, and bang your head. FFO: Neurosis, Goatsnake, Bell Witch, etc.
  3. we just moved into a new HQ and have been slowly organizing and sorting. as doing so we realized just how many 7"s we have in the distro. so we are offering 30% off all 7". if they were already discounted, the 30% is off the discount price too! we are also overrun with zines so ALL zines are $1!! that's right, only $1! order up some stuff and help us make room. http://www.torjohnsonrecords.com/store/
  4. hey y'all, long time no post. newest Tor Johnson Records release is up for pre-order. pre-orders come on coke-bottle clear with an exclusive cassette of demos from the band's personal archive. check out the first song here: http://modern-vinyl.com/2017/12/05/exclusive-spin-twin-foxes-drownd/ check out a new music video here: https://idioteq.com/providence-emotive-indie-rockers-twin-foxes-return-new-record-watch-new-video-now/ pre-order here: http://www.torjohnsonrecords.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_music_info&cPath=21&products_id=1334
  5. here's another track from the comp by Aneurysm. http://post-trash.com/news/2017/6/22/aneurysm-shes-drugs-post-trash-exclusive-premiere#
  6. the first track for the upcoming 15th Anniversary Comp is up for listening and the record is up for pre-order. here's the deal: exclusive color, 4 people who order win a test press w/silk screened art, and we're trying something new: there is also a pre-order pack that includes a ticket to the anniversary show AND we'll give you first dibs on all the exclusive merch we're doing for the show. the record features artwork by Keith Rosson and unreleased/rare tracks from Saint Jude, Tyler Daniel Bean, Bloodpheasant, Death To Tyrants, Furnace, Sea Of Storms, Aneurysm, Late Bloomer, Lunglust, and Ratstab. the show is July 29th at AS220 PVD. bands playing (not in this order): Aneurysm, Late Bloomer, lunglust, Ordinary Lives, Now Denial, Ratstab, Twin Foxes, Tyler Daniel Bean (unplugged). check out the first track: http://newnoisemagazine.com/stream-tyler-daniel-bean-gardening/
  7. As we say peace out 2016, let's usher in 2017 with some savings! 2017 is our 15th year putting out music, so we need to make some room from all the craziness of 2016 for some new craziness. Save 30% off your order with this coupon and help us make room for more releases. Expect to see a big comp LP, a special RSD release, and more! Thanks for helping us keep doing this, so buy some music so we can keep putting out records. The coupon code is 30for15th ; The coupon is valid between 12/31/2016 and 02/01/2017 ; http://www.torjohnsonrecords.com
  8. thanks everyone!!! really excited with how these came out. did any of you order the "crusty" bread pre-order? i got my loaf in yesterday and its delicious.
  9. second song: http://newnoisemagazine.com/ordinary-lives-totalitarian-pale/
  10. newer band from Philly Ordinary Lives have their debut 7" up for pre-order. coming out via Tor Johnson Records, State Of Mind Recordings, Square Of Opposition, and Yo-Yo in Europe. you can order from any of the labels. the record will be out for their appearance at this year's Fest. check out the first track here: http://www.avclub.com/article/ordinary-lives-offers-time-tested-first-single-243636
  11. just a little bump. FYI, every order places through Tor Johnson Records gets entered into a raffle for a test press!
  12. we are excited to announce Tyler Daniel Bean's On Days Soon To Pass is now available for pre-order. featuring more stunning art by the amazing Will Schaff. check out the first single and the ordering info: http://www.brooklynvegan.com/tyler-daniel-bean-releasing-on-days-soon-to-pass-stream-a-track/
  13. http://www.brooklynvegan.com/tyler-daniel-bean-releasing-on-days-soon-to-pass-stream-a-track/
  14. surprise everyone!! i normally put up pre-orders secretly 24 hours before the big announcement and email our webstore customers for first crack at them. i'll bump this again later today. Brooklyn Vegan will be making an announcement and streaming the first single. FYI: all orders placed through the TJR store will be entered into a raffle for a copy of a test press. also continuing our tradition of ridiculous stuff with pre-orders, yes there is a loaf of bread super pack. the super pack also gets an exclusive print based off the cover art. so, yup. feel free to jump the gun and get your orders in!

Please disable AdBlocker