Record Players

I am using my dads old JVC JL-F50 from the 70's. I have read that certain players can damage records by the weight of the arm, the way the needle is... Anyway, I am fairly new to vinyl and am just wondering if this player could be damaging my records, and reducing its quality more than a new player would. Does anybody know about this turntable? I would be willing to spend around $300 on a new turntable if it will help protect my records.

I am using my dads old JVC JL-F50 from the 70's. I have read that certain players can damage records by the weight of the arm, the way the needle is... Anyway, I am fairly new to vinyl and am just wondering if this player could be damaging my records, and reducing its quality more than a new player would. Does anybody know about this turntable? I would be willing to spend around $300 on a new turntable if it will help protect my records.

The turntables that can prematurely wear out records are DJ 'tables. They have heavier tonearms and needles so as to be able to play through imperfections and such. 'Consumer' or any other table made for casual listening should not create this problem.

Guest scriptedrain
We need a n00b vinyl questions sticky, this is getting out of hand. :)

For the love of god... NO MORE STICKIES!

Well, yeah, I feel the same way about the stickies too. I think there should be a Virgil preorder thread, a Turntable Questions thread, and the other 2 we have. That's 4 stickies, good enough for me.

For the love of god... NO MORE STICKIES!

Well, yeah, I feel the same way about the stickies too. I think there should be a Virgil preorder thread, a Turntable Questions thread, and the other 2 we have. That's 4 stickies, good enough for me.