Help with distortion on tt

I've got a Technics SL-1200MK2 with Shure M97xE. I've set the stylus force and anti-skating as required, but I'm getting distortion - it sounds like the records I'm playing are slightly warped, but I know for a fact that they are not.

The only thing I know of that I have yet to do is use the alignment protractor for the cartridge, but I'm hoping you with the same turntable may have some advice and/or suggestions.

Thanks in advance!

i am not an expert but, i had recently had trouble installing a new Shure M97xE in my Technics SL-d205 so i will pass along the suggestions i received.

Are your speakers too close to the turntable? The magnets in the speakers can throw a field, which can interfere with the cart.

If it's not a new cart it may be shot. my old one was and it sounded like i was playing the record underwater.

Is the turntable properly grounded?

Stylus dirty? Did you bump it around installing it?

How are the wire connections to the headshell? How are the connections from the headshell to tonearm?

hope this helps.

FYI: I picked up a Technics overhang gauge (sets it to 52mm) off ebay for a few bucks. It was worth it. I had trouble messing with the protractor that came with the cart. However, if you have a set of calipers those would probably work too.

I had issues with the tracking force, namely i didn't re-zero out the arm after installing the new cart. The new Shure was way more heavy than my old Audio-technica.

Can you explain the distortion a bit more? I know that's not easy, but when you say that it sounds like your records are warped, to me that indicates more of a wow + flutter issue ... like there's a problem with your deck keeping a steady speed.

Actually, do you know how to use the strobe light? Let us know if you're having a pitch issue as Soundofsulfer mentioned.