Bought an old Emerson on Craigslist...Now What?

I've been using one of those Crosley all-in-one units for a few years now, and while I'd like to get a much nicer setup, money is tight and it's not super far up on my list of priorities at the moment/ I'd like to stray away from the "give some handys to some randoms for your setup $$" as I've seen in other posts, haha. 

I saw this on my local Craigslist this morning and decided to go check it out. Ended up talking the guy down to $30, and I'm pretty happy overall. Everything seems to work as it should, even the speakers aren't terrible (not pictured, old bookshelf speakers) for the time being, and when I use the radio it sounds fantastic. My vinyl sounds decent on it as is, though every now and then the tonearm will skip a bunch, while other times it works normally. The only other issue with playing records is that, from time to time, there is a ton of cracking and popping so I'm guessing maybe it needs a new needle? I'm really new to all of this if you can't tell. 

This is the only thing I've ever owned aside from the Crosley so I did some searches on Google about tonearm adjustment, but it doesn't seem to have a counterweight on the back. There are two pieces to it that turn, one on the front and one on the side, but I can't really tell what either of them do. 

All in all, I'm excited to get this up and running properly, it's going to be a lot nicer than my last and I've already listened to a few things that sound worlds better.

Anyway, I would love any insight that you folks could possibly give me on how to get this thing in proper working order. 

Thanks!

image.jpeg

photo.JPG

image-2.jpeg

image-1.jpeg