Sanyo TP 626

I’m new to VC but I’ve been lurking a couple weeks and finally decided to join and post. This is kind of a setup post but I’m also looking for feedback on my equipment because I’m new to the game.

This is my first real turntable (I had an AT LP60 but that was a mistake). I love vintage gear but was planning to buy new to avoid the pitfalls until I came across this Sanyo on Craigslist and got it for $40.

I’ve been doing some research but haven’t been able to find much information on the table or cart (Empire 6000E). From what I’ve read it’s from the late 70’s and I've heard some good things about the Empire cart.

I cleaned it up and downloaded the manual from Vinylengine (thanks to a tip from Kannibal on another thread). I was planning to take it apart to oil the motor but it’s a little out of my comfort zone. I’m afraid if I start taking things apart I won’t be able to get it back together. Does anyone know of a good tech in the Charlotte, NC area that could give this a tune up?

I put a new belt on it and I got a new stylus from Turntableneedles.com. It seems to run great and sounds way better than my LP60.

I bought a Cambridge Audio 551P preamp and I have that hooked up to my AV receiver (Pioneer VSX-920). The Pioneer is a 5.1 but it has a stereo mode so I can switch over to 2 channel when I’m listening to records.

I’m using JBL bookshelf speakers and an Infinity 8” subwoofer from the mid 90’s. Speakers will probably be my next upgrade. I’m thinking of getting some Bowers & Wilkins 685 bookshelf speakers but there are so many choices when it comes to speakers. I’m looking to spend $600 - $800 and I’ve heard good things about the B&W’s. It’ll be a while though because I’m broke right now.

Does anyone know much about this table or cart? I’m new to the vinyl experience but I’m not a shriveling flower so if it sucks let me have it. Here are some pics

6a1b2dca-d316-42f6-a40a-863c30bd9e0b_zps

d548d3b8-d07a-4825-a388-3996544dde8e_zps