Jump to content

PO: Superchunk - Indoor Living (reissue)

Recommended Posts



On February 25, Merge will release the newly remastered reissue of Superchunk’s out-of-print 1997 album Indoor LivingThe second in our 2014 series of reissues in celebration of our 25th anniversary,Indoor Living will be released on CD and LP with new liner notes by Laura Ballance and producer/engineer John Plymale. The LP will be pressed on 180-gram vinyl, and both CD and LP will include a download of a live concert recorded at Duke University in 1997.

Ana Marie Cox, who wrote the original SPIN review of the album, revisited the record for its reissue:

Indoor Living is about domestication: The taming and training of human beings to inhabit each others’ lives, during which a certain amount of blood is spilled. But anyone can write a break-up record, anyone can color in a broken heart all black. It takes a more sophisticated eye to find the light and perfect moments that happen even when we wish they didn’t, and Indoor Living is a scrapbook of those moments. A request for mercy comes across like an in-joke (“We both know that I’ve got bad knees”) in “Watery Hands.” “European Medicine” is a lively travelog that’s by turns amusingly fatalistic (“All our wine just froze, so much for your sunny coast”) and achingly needy (“Hold my hand steady while I write / Look over my shoulder all night”). Even “The Popular Music,” the record’s angriest slice of heartache, has a protagonist that can’t quite pull off a fully punk rock tantrum: “I’m smashing not washing the china you left me to use,” but “making mosaics of scenes from the parts of my life that you left me to lose.”

Angst is easy, hope is hard. Thinking you’re going to die from a broken heart is easy, knowing you won’t is hard. Adulthood is about forsaking the black and white resolutions of youth for a more complicated, and resonant, resilience: From “Burn Last Sunday,” one of the saddest lines in indie rock: “The branches you thought you’d break / Well, they just bend.” In music and with people, maturity happens when the sharp edges and jangly rhythms of angst and outrage give over to fuller conversations. Indoor Livingshows that you don’t have to lose a single joule of energy in becoming a little more self-reflective. You just have to be willing to take it all in.

Indoor Living reissue track listing:

1. Unbelievable Things
2. Burn Last Sunday
3. Marquee
4. Watery Hands
5. Nu Bruises
6. Every Single Instinct
7. Song for Marion Brown
8. The Popular Music
9. Under Our Feet
10. European Medicine
11. Martinis on the Roof

Bonus content: Clambakes Vol 8: We’d Like to Thank the Homecoming Committee – Live at Duke 1997

1. Younger Bums (Big Dipper cover)
2. Burn Last Sunday
3. Cast Iron
4. Watery Hands
5. Song for Marion Brown
6. Sunshine State
7. I Guess I Remembered It Wrong
8. Nu Bruises
9. Marquee
10. Shallow End
11. Driveway to Driveway
12. Hyper Enough
13. Bye Bye Kitty Cat (Mice cover)
14. Precision Auto

Preorders will ship to arrive on or around the release date of February 25.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


oh my wow GIF by ESPN Deportes


Please disable AdBlock OR sign-in in order to be able to access our website...

I Understand, I'll disable it for this website