reciever/speaker reccomendation thread

Hey yall,

I just bought a pro-ject debut iii turntable and am looking to upgrade my entire stereo system. I am new to stereo equipment(my current table is an all in one bullshit so i did not have anything legit) so any info that can steer me in the right direction would be fantastic. I am looking to spend around $1000 on the receiver and speakers which i feel is a modest price for a great sounding system. I have been told by one of my friends who does audio interior installations that i should get a 5.1 receiver and speakers but not sure what sounds best for turntables. If anyone is either selling some of their old equipment or has some tips/links to help me out then it would be highly appreciated. Thanks for everyone's time who read this thread.

I did a lot of research last year and ended up picking a refurbished 2 channel Peachtree Decco amp that's treated me well thus far. Good balance between quality and style with a great built in DAC.

http://www.signalpathint.com/index.php/decco/the-decco.html

It's driving a pair of B&W DM601 speakers that I purchased off craigslist. A combo like that should definitely keep you under $1000.

http://www.audioreview.com/cat/speakers/bookshelf-speakers/b-and-w/dm-601/PRD_120863_4290crx.aspx

I have a Marantz SR6004 B

7 x 110 Watt / 8 Ohm RMS

Dolby TrueHD, DTS HD

Dolby Pro-Logic IIz

M-DAX

Audyssey Dynamic EQ und Dynamic Volume

It´s perfect for TV/DVD/BR / PS3 but is also has a very good stereo sound.....

I am useing that for my mp3 music....

for records I use this setup

[image]

Projetct III with a Dynavox VR-70E and Dali Speakers...

I can´t recommend Harmann & Kardon at all...but most stores have them around here.... .......the quality is pretty shitty....

speakers : Dali speakers (punk/metal,rock) but that is a personal taste.....it would be always the best thing to go somewhere , bring your music along and give it a try directly in the store...