TURTABLE/SYSTEM QUESTIONS

The other thread seems to have died off, so if a mod wants to move this that is cool:

OK OK OK, I have read through most of the Help Me Choose thread, and now I would like to ask some questions. Any help would be much appreciated.

I am about to create my own little setup and I wanted to see what people thought. I am fairly new to vinyl, but I have the beginnings of a pretty nice collection, so I want a decent setup to spin them on.

My plan (as of now) is to buy a Pro-Ject Debut III USB and connect it directly to my Sony LBT-D290 (5 disc changer), which I am pretty sure it has a phono input . . .

Here are my questions:

1. Do I need the USB/preamp aspect of the Debut or will the Sony take care of it?

2. Is the Debut III USB a good turntable (I know there have been some comments about it)?

3. Will it sound bad if I run it through the Sony?

Just give me some general thoughts, and I will probably ask some more questions.

Thanks all.

ps Non-vinyl question. How good or bad can a CD player actually get, I saw one the other day for over a thousand that supposedly optimized all settings etc. What is the deal?

Yeah unless that cd thing is a combo cd player/receiver, I have no idea how you will amplify your records into speakers. No idea on the preamp part since I have no clue about the sony device.

The Project debut III is, from what I have heard time and again, a great starter table. Never heard any big issues with it. Don't spend extra for the USB capabilities if you dont need it though.

As far as cd player quality goes, don't bother spending big bucks on a deck unless you have the receiver and speakers to go with it. The difference between a $100 cd player and $1000 one is much smaller than the difference between a $100 turntable and a $1000 one.

That stereo does have a phono input. That table has a built in phono pre-amp. So I agree that the odds are, you don't need the USB version.