Acceptable vinyl condition?

First post. I will start by saying I'm brand new to vinyl and this board (in the last 6 months). Man, it's a financially dangerous hobby but I love it! It's right up my alley.

Now I have some questions for all the vinyl veterans out there if you wouldn't mind providing some feedback. I've purchased about 10 albums so far in my time (mostly from VC :)), and although they have all been purchased new, I've had quality issues with 3 of them. ETID - The Big Dirty skips many times on side A. P.TM - Church Mouth has a loud pop through most of the first track. Most recently my mewithoutYou - Brother, Sister is almost unlistenable because it skips so much.

If this was used vinyl I would understand. But is this something that is very common with new vinyl? Can the same skip be common to an entire pressing, or is it normally isolated? And what would people recommend doing in these situations....would you attempt to exchange for a better copy or do you typically just have to live with what you've got?

I don't want to sound too disgruntled, cause I have greatly enjoyed collecting my favorites on vinyl so far. It's a blast. I love the entire package. It's just seems that 3/10 isn't a very good ratio, but maybe I should expect that?

no, you shouldn't. that's a bad ratio.

my copies of those albums play perfectly fine, so i'm not sure what advice i can give. i know other albums i've bought new (well, one at least) skips pretty badly. there are some totally ghetto solutions depending on how cheap your turntable is. sometimes even just putting a dime or quarter on the stylus can help, depending on whether it's actually something wrong with the record or just some dust in the groove.

From the ratio I can only assume that it's a problem with your table.