Real Talk: Operating System

So, I've been using Windows 7 on my Dell laptop for a few months now. Its been fine and dandy for the most part with a few random shut downs thrown in for fun. Last night it decided to shit the bed and I can't seem to get anything to work to make it boot up. I've tried lots different ways, and I'm in the process of downloading a new recovery disc right now to try again. That said, I'm about sick of this and I've downloaded a copy of Knoppix which is currently running off of a CD right now. I've never really had much experience with Linux, but so far I'm impressed by how much it is like windows. It also is quite a bit faster. I'm thinking I might just ditch everything and use Linux, but I'm not sure if that is the wisest thing to do. My question is, does anyone have advanced experience with Linux and have you had any major file type compatability issues?

If you are considering Linux, Go with Ubuntu.

I haven't had anything but good times with it.

There shouldn't be any problem with file formats. Luckily, if you have an issue, just do a quick Google search and you can probably find something that will work for you.

If you are planning on using any drives from your old system though, see if you can make them fat32 formatted drives. Linux doesn't play well with Windows' NTFS drives.

If you are considering Linux, Go with Ubuntu.

I haven't had anything but good times with it.

There shouldn't be any problem with file formats. Luckily, if you have an issue, just do a quick Google search and you can probably find something that will work for you.

If you are planning on using any drives from your old system though, see if you can make them fat32 formatted drives. Linux doesn't play well with Windows' NTFS drives.

This man knows his stuff. I was going to say the same thing. Ubuntu is tits. I'll tell you off the bat you'll need to do some work to get DVD playback working as it doesn't "ship" by default with it.