Bird/Lawnmower/What to do?

So I let my grass get waay too long. Cutting it today and I see a dead bird on my driveway. As I'm cutting the grass, I ran over another bird. I think it was the mate of the one that died and was staying by him/her in the nearby grass. They look like the exact same kind of bird.

Thing is, the bird I ran over isn't mangled. If it was, I'd do what I needed to. I'm no bird expert, but it's wings look fine. It won't fly though. It has a few drops of blood near its beak where it must have gotten hit.

For now, I got a big box, threw some grass in it, and fed the thing a couple worms. It won't fly though. It's not even trying. Just sitting there chirping. Best case, it just flies away later today. If it doesn't, what should I do? Is it better to keep a wild bird caged up in a box or put it down?

ps I'm not a bleeding heart who cries over a cat who catches a bird or something like that. I just feel like since I'm the one that did this to it I should do the right thing and not just leave it to starve or get eaten by something else.

Do you know why the caged bird will fly?

When its cage is opened and it looks to the sky,

The reason is because from the inside of a cage,

The world often looks like a stage,

Where the actors roam wild and free,

And they all live together happily,

So the bird in the cage begins to wish and yearn,

That one day his freedom he will earn,

for it is a proven fact that every creature who was able to roam,

no creature likes feeling alone,

For God built the urge, he put it inside,

Inside our hearts these feelings will always reside,

So the next chance you get,

Hug the ones you love,

Hold them close and do not forget,

It could be worse...

You could be the caged bird,

Who even if he could fly, may never get the chance to be free...