help; new cart?

Hello everyone

I'm looking for a little help with my table. I've had the Music Hall 2.2 for a little over a year. Overall, I'm very happy with it. My biggest complaint is inner groove distortion. I've checked everything (to the best of my ability) and the cart seems aligned, and VTA looks good. It's not all LP's, mind you, but a good number of them. 

My questions are, how common is IGD with this table? If I were to upgrade my cart, what would be a good option, with reducing IGD in mind? Lastly, I've never changed the cart, would it be better to take to a shop since I have no experience, and don't intend on swapping a lot?

Thanks in advance, cheers. 

1. Its not rocket science to swapping a cart, but unless you have the alignment tools, it can be difficult. If you have a shop that will order a cartridge for you, they'll probably install it too. I was just in STL a few weeks ago, there are plenty of shops there that can help.

2. The 2.2 comes with the MH Tracker. Its nothing to write home about, but it shouldn't be too terrible. If you were to upgrade, you should spend at least $200.

3. You say its not all records... is it your 180g records? Then your VTA could be off... Or you just have dirty records. Do you have any cleaning methods?

4. What is your preamp/integrated amp situation? If you have lower quality stuff, and your blasting your LPs... you'd hear your IGD more.

Thank you for the reply, ajxd.

1. I'm not really afraid to attempt it, other than the tonearm wires couldn't be thinner if they tried, and if I break one, I'd have to get help fixing. I do have a local shop in mind, in case. The only alignment tool I have is the paper Pro-Ject one that came with the table. 

2. I've read good things about the tracker and it sounds even better after break in, save the IGD.