DELETE

I've been collecting for about 3 years. I started after all my cds got stolen. I liked buying cds because of the art and lyrics so vinyl's larger format naturally appealed to me. CDs are too easily stolen and duplicated. I've collected stuff (baseball cards, action figures, etc.) my whole life so vinyl was the next step. I own about 250 records, and the most I've ever paid for one was $200. My favorite thing is getting limited edition stuff for retail prices. Limited colors keep things interesting and allow for bragging. I don't think vinyl can save the music industry, its too impractical. It will always be a novelty but not in a bad way.

- I used to buy a ton of CDs. I bought a turntable because a lot of bands I liked released stuff on 7"s that wasn't available on CD. When I started buying records I realized that they were just like CDs, only the artwork was bigger, they sounded better, they were often cheaper, and they come in pretty colors. Consequently, I stopped buying CDs.

-I've been collecting for about about a year and a half.

-I own approximately 140 LPs, 20 10"s, and 130 7"s

-The most I've ever paid was ~$100 for the record that convinced me to buy a turntable

-My favorite part about vinyl is the experience. That sounds sort of stupid, but really with an LP you get the artwork, the better sound, you have to get up to flip it over, etc. It just feels like a more involved process than a throwing a CD in a disc changer ot playing an mp3, which is something I appreciate, since music is really important to me.

-I don't think the vinyl resurgence will do the "music industry" any good; that ship is bound to sink. However, I think it will be great for independent artists and labels, namely, people who really care about music. The trend that some people are starting of including free mp3 downloads with vinyl purchases is terrific. That, in my opinion, is the wave of the future, so to speak.