vinyl manufacturing / sample clearance issues

Hey wassup everyone,

I'm a hip-hop producer based out of eastern Canada. I am trying to press a 7" 45 rpm record, but the vinyl manufacturer (MMS, the only one in Canada) has asked for samples to be cleared before they can go ahead. I'm only pressing 300 copies, many of which will be sent to college radio etc for promo, so sample clearance is not practical or feasible.

My question is this. . .does anyone know of vinyl manufacturers in America or even overseas that turn a blind eye to samples? They are chopped and manipulated very well; I am surprised that 2 samples were actually detected.

Hey wassup everyone,

I'm a hip-hop producer based out of eastern Canada. I am trying to press a 7" 45 rpm record, but the vinyl manufacturer (MMS, the only one in Canada) has asked for samples to be cleared before they can go ahead. I'm only pressing 300 copies, many of which will be sent to college radio etc for promo, so sample clearance is not practical or feasible.

My question is this. . .does anyone know of vinyl manufacturers in America or even overseas that turn a blind eye to samples? They are chopped and manipulated very well; I am surprised that 2 samples were actually detected.

sample clearances and mechanical licenses aren't all that much trouble to get/buy. I don't think any plants in the US turn a blind eye to it since US copyright law is so tight, especially with music and movies etc...

Maybe this post is a little sketchy; I'm not really a message boarder so I wasn't thinking like that at the time. But a few cats on here already have sent some helpful private messages, so maybe the rumors about mean people on the internet are not true.

Sorry man, hope I didn't come across as mean, I was just kidding around.

This is actually a really friendly board.

Welcome!