I have an international shipping question. Help?

I need to ship a double LP to Austria and the guy wants a quote for registered mail, saying he had a record shipped from the US last week for roughly $25 registered.

I'm trying to mock up a shipping label through the USPS site to get an idea of cost but as I've never done this before for international I'm not sure what to choose in terms of the package size as none of the options appear to be close to roughly 12x12x1. I chose "Package" which seems to generally cover what this would be but once I input all the info and add a registered option, we're looking at around $41 which isn't gonna fly.

Anyone have any tips or tricks that might make this make more sense for a n00b? Thanks in advance.

http://ircalc.usps.com/

tumblr_mo8t9dE5oi1s7gn7ko1_500.gif

Sounds like you did everything right. It is expensive to send packages internationally.

Well I already know that, I just don't know how this guy claims he got a registered mail record sent for $25. I've sent two international records before both as the cheapest option with no bells or whistles and they were around $23 each so I think he might be confused.

As someone who had to have a ton of records sent from US to EU I can tell you that there are big differences between UPS and USPS and other shipping services. It's very possible that he had a record sent for that amount.

I'll check out UPS and see if that makes a difference. Thanks.

If I recall correctly you can have delivery confirmation for a first class international package without any additional fees. Maybe this is what he meant.

This only applies to certain countries though (it does for mine, so I had to sign for all the packages I got from the US in the last few months).

I'll see if I can dig up a list of all eligible countries.

If I recall correctly you can have delivery confirmation for a first class international package without any additional fees. Maybe this is what he meant.