Setting up Technics 1200

I finally upgraded from an ION to an actual turntable the other day, a Technics 1200. Bought it used for $325 from a local shop. Looks to be an ex-DJ table, as seen from some cosmetic issues on the outside. But everything was there and in good condition and the shop had looked over it and set it up.

I just wanted to make sure everything on it seemed at a good level to you guys, as I have no experience setting one up. The guys at the shop had already changed the cartridge on it and set it up, but I figured I should make sure all is well.

The cartridge is a Ortofon OM Pro.

The Anti-Skate is set to 3.

The counterweight appears to be at 3.5.

It's nice to be able to play some records that used to skip all the way through without that nonsense. I had a brand new record that used to skip at the same parts regularly that no longer does, but I want to make sure the arm isn't applying too much pressure. Thanks everyone!

• 3 weeks later...

Just be careful that cartridge actually has a range of 3 - 5gms. The lowest you should set it at is 3 grams. 2.5 or lower and you run the risk of it skating across your vinyl and bouncing in the groove (not necessarily audible either) which causes a lot more damage than a bit of extra mass.

You should never go lower than recommended tracking forces for a number of reasons including the fact that the ortofon dj carts are not very compliant and so need a bit of extra mass to sound good (read better bass and high frequency response) and to sit nicely in the groove. Yes it is quite heavy compared to hifi carts but they are designed to run heavy and have a spherical diamond which doesn't sit particularly deeply in the groove or are particularly sharp and nasty (which is why they are ok to back cue with without causing too much damage to the groove).

Set your anti skate to the same number of grams you have applied to the cartridge and tweak it slightly one way or the other by ear.