Newbie looking for equipment advice

Hello, first post!

I'm a newbie in terms of turntables, and I'm finally looking to buy one after my vinyl collection has grown large enough that they are demanding to be played regularly :)

From my understanding, people typically have a dedicated system for vinyl playing; however, in my case, that is not really feasible at this point.  I currently have surround sound speakers built into the walls in my family room with no current receiver hooked up (we had an old crappy one that we discarded when we upgraded our TV... now we run sound out of the TV).  Thus, what I would like to do is get a new receiver that can accommodate surround sound for the television and accommodate a (not yet purchase) turntable.

For the turntable, I'm just about sold on the Audio-Technica AT-LP120.  My budget is going to be $1000 - $1500 USD, but that will include the turntable, a receiver, and wireless speakers (Sonos?) so that I can listen in another room as well as a subwoofer for the TV.

Thus, given this situation, what I'm looking for is the following:

1. Is the Audio-Technica AT-LP120 a good choice for a turntable?  I have looked at some other sub-$500 turntables, and it seems to be the best choice.  I don't mind spending up, but I need to keep the overall budget in mind.

2. Can anyone recommend a receiver?  I'd like to find one that can use what I think is called "zoning" in which I can play music through one set of speakers (in another room) while someone is watching TV in the family room (sound through the same receiver).

3. Would I need a preamp to improve the sound with the receiver in #2 above?  I've read about people switching off the Audio-Technica AT-LP120 amp and using an external preamp with good success.

4. If I want to play vinyl in one room and sit in another (i.e. while I am working), would Sonos speakers be a good choice?