Why do I have horrible sound quality?

So, I bought a nice player a while ago and it's USB. So I plug it into my computer and I play it through audacity. However, whenever I play anything, it sounds really crappy and staticy. How do I fix this? Do I have to hook up real speakers to it? I'm not very good with anything to do with this stuff so any help would be appreciated, thanks.

The essentially is a 60 dollar turntable without the usb port.

I would assume that this turntable played with that built pre amp through a laptop and laptop speakers is the issue.

But since that is what you have I would try moving them apart. You probably have a giant wall of distortion with all those signals?

Also does you speakers have power or are they running off a jack in your laptop

Yeah, man. Your whole system is pretty bad.

But if you want to figure out exactly what is wrong, be a little scientific. Hook the turntable up to a receiver and speakers (a friends or something). See how it sounds. You will be able to isolate it to a turntable issue or a speaker issue.

If you have a newer tv, you might be able to just run the audio into that. I've done it before and it doesn't sound "full", but it works ok.

Ok, thanks for the help guys. What would be a good turntable then that's not very pricey?

Given that you already a serviceable turntable (I won't say horrible, because there is a level of quality below yours...the $50 turntable), I would say roll with this one until you are ready to buy one more turntable for the rest of your life. If records are your thing and you plan on listening to the format for the rest of your life, be prepared to drop $400 on just the turntable. But you don't want to buy a $100 table...outgrow it...a $200 table...outgrow it...a $300 table...outgrow it...and on and on. I went $50 -> $200 and I'm regretting not just spending the $400.