Should I stop playing my records until I Upgrade?

OK so Im new to record collecting, and last Christmas I received a Audio Technica LP60 ( ya I know piece of shit), I never really had a problem with it, but after reading the forums, and seeing that everyone says its garbage, I decided I need to upgrade.... Anyways do you think its safe for me to keep playing my records on it until I upgrade to a $300-$400, or should I stop playing them all together? I don't really know why the LP60 is so bad, I read through countless topics, but why is it really bad (I definitely will upgrade though)? Does it scrach the records? If it does in that case I'll hold off playing until I save up. Any help appreciated, but I basically wana know if it will more or less ruin my records. If it matters Im using Lepai receiver and a pair of bookshelf speakers

(i own one of these myself) for a low end table i would definitely take it over the other options (ion, etc)

the problem that everybody gets up in arms about with these tables is that you can't adjust the tracking force. it works on a pretty heavy tracking force in order to minimize skips without a counterweight. a heavy tracking force is going to wear down records faster than an adjustable one that has been optimized right.

you'll be fine if you listen to your records on it. obviously it should be in your future plans to upgrade at some point, but don't let someone tell you you're going to ruin your shit because you're listening to it on an lp60. there is more long-term wear on your stuff than higher end tables, but they're not going to get wrecked as soon as you spin them once on this table.

(i own one of these myself) for a low end table i would definitely take it over the other options (ion, etc)