Okay, VC: Ask me (almost) anything about my job.

For those who don't know, I am the managing editor at Alternative Press, a national music magazine that covers many bands who are popular on the VC boards as well as many more that aren't. I don't really talk openly about my job in here because there's no real need to, but lot of people here tend to have questions (or in some cases, accusations) about what I do for a living, so let this thread be a catch-all. I will do my best to answer any question within reason, but please keep in mind I am an active employee and as such can't go into super-sensitive topics. But if there's something you want to ask, this is the place and now is the time.

Does AP require applicants to have an English degree?

No. We have no specific college degree requirements for any department, although obviously if you have a degree in journalism you'd be a better candidate for an editorial position than someone who doesn't. That said, my degree is in speech communication and they still hired me; a large part of that was from the work I did on Punknews.org.

I'll bite Scott - thanks for offering. I got the subscription during one of the offers so I've read enough issues. I often feel like there is room for more hard-hitting or critical questions to be asked. I felt in particular like the guy from Dance Gavin Dance was given a virtual pass on way too much stuff. I figure AP is more for entertainment but you billed it as coming clean etc.

Why doesn't AP pound a little harder at the touchier stuff?

I like enough of the music discussed in your mags pages that I'd like a bit more. Then again maybe I'm just an old dude and I'm way outside the demographic. Ok, I know I am. 

Ok serious question this time: Have you ever thought about collecting all your oral histories into a book?