paying rent

For those of you that still live at home, do you pay rent? Have you ever paid your parents rent? Discuss.

my parents let me move back in rent free so I could be closer to school, but then I graduated and couldn't find a job. They asked for cheap rent but I just moved out instead.

I think it depends on the situation. How well you get along, are you allowed the same freedoms you'd get from living with an actual roommate, if you pay but they still treat you like they did when you were 15. How much are the charging you. Etc

I pay 200 a month to my folks which I guess pays for my insurance, phone bill, and probably helps on utlities. I'm 24 and going back to college so it helps.

They've threatened to kick me out if I got a tattoo though, gonna see if i can't wind them down on that.

After next school year I'll have my associates and see if I can't get a decent job with that to move out.

My parents didn't charge me rent.  I went to college for 5 years (had to repeat Sophomore year when I transferred due to mismatched credits) then lived at home for 2.5 years before I could afford to move out.  They said as long as I kept a job and contributed around the house I could stay rent-free.  I'm still thankful for that.  Meanwhile, my little brother failed out of college in the 1st semester and worked full time since 2008 and contributes nothing but disrespect and lives there rent free as a police officer now.  Go figure.

My parents didn't charge me rent.   They said as long as I kept a job and contributed around the house I could stay rent-free.  I'm still thankful for that.